Managing users
This page is under construction!
Change a user's permission group
Managing users basics
Users in CIMS who are account administrators have access to the "Manage users" popup, where you can change emails, change passwords, modify users permissions and more. To access the "Manage users" popup, click on your cemetery name in the upper-left corner of CIMS, then click "Manage users" from the dropdown.
This popup has two tabs; the first, "Users", is where you can add users if you have unused CIMS licenses, change emails, and more. The second tab, "Permission groups", is used to manage permission groups and their assigned operations.
License types
There are two license types in CIMS; full licenses and read-only licenses. Full licenses can be account administrators and have full access to all functions in CIMS or can be more limited. Read-only licenses are strictly limited in their permissions and useful for grounds crews or members of a cemetery organization who need to view data but not edit it.
Permission groups
Operations (such as creating a deed, editing customers, changing work orders, etc.) are grouped into permission groups. Each user in CIMS is assigned a permission group whose assigned operations govern what actions the user can take in CIMS. By default, CIMS comes with three pre-built permission groups that cannot be changed. Not sure what operations are assigned to a group? Click "Edit group" to see more details, including descriptions of each operation.
| Group name | Description | Operations |
|---|---|---|
| Account administrator | Has full access to all CIMS functions. | Edit cemetery settings; Edit burial; Edit deed; Edit constant; Edit work orders; Edit space; Edit marker; Edit customer; Edit QuickBooks; Edit layer maintenance |
| Read-only | Can only read data. Cannot add, edit or delete data. | None |
| Work orders only | Can create, edit and delete work orders. Cannot add, edit or delete other data in CIMS.
Useful for grounds crews. |
Edit work orders |
Custom permission groups
A CIMS user who has the "Edit cemetery settings" operation as part of their permission group can create custom permission groups for their cemetery. To do so, navigate to the "Permission groups" tab, then click the navy "Add new permission group" button in the lower-right corner of the "Manage users" popup. Add a name, optional remarks, and click one or more group operations to assign to this new permission group. Click "Save settings" to finish creating the permission group.
To edit a custom permission group, click the navy "Edit group" button to the right of a permission group name. Make your changes, then click "Save settings".
To delete a custom permission group, click the red "Delete" button to the right of a permission group name.
Read-only licenses
Read-only licenses can only use the prebuilt "Read-only" or "Work orders only" permission groups. If one of your CIMS users needs more permissions, please contact our team.